Leave a comment

Home

I started this project years ago, I thought it would help me cope with the abundant amount of emotions I felt but life continued to happen and it got set aside.  In an attempt to complete what I started here’s the first thing I wrote down about two weeks or so after my mother died.  Not sure why I never posted it here but here it is.

 

Home

 

when i was young, home was a place

home was a house in North Carolina

home was an apt in Los Angeles

home was a house in Inglewood

but as transitory as it was

home was a place where i lived

i believed it was a building

now i’ve come to realize now that home

was never really a place

home was were my parents were

when my father died home was

where my mother was…

and now, now she too is gone

taking with her that home

and for the first time in my life

i find myself homeless

so where will home be now?

i guess it’ll be in my heart

so wherever i may find myself

there my home will be

Leave a Reply

